Dera Ghazi Khan

Dera Ghazi Khan Location

Dera Ghazi Khan, abbreviated as D. G. Khan, is a city in the Punjab province of Pakistan. It is the headquarters of the Dera Ghazi Khan District. It is the 19th largest city in Pakistan by population. It is the headquarters of the District and Dera Ghazi Khan Division. It is located at 30’03” N and 70’38” E.


It was founded at the end of the 15th century and was named after Ghazi Khan Mirrani, son of Haji Khan Mirrani who was a powerful Baloch chieftain. 15 generations of Mirranis ruled the area. In those days, games abounded near Dera Ghazi Khan and the fields were green.

D.G. Khan Division has 4 districts and 14 tehsils. It covers the extreme southwestern area of Punjab, covering roughly 20% of the total area of the province. It includes districts of D.G. Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, and Muzaffargarh.

 The weather of Dera Ghazi Khan:

The overall climate of the city is dry with little rainfall. The winter is mild and dry, but it is very hot in summer. The average high during summer is about 107 °F (42 °C), while during winter the average low is 40 °F (4 °C). The prevailing wind direction is north–south. Due to the barren mountains of Koh-Suleman and the sandy soil of the area, windstorms are common in the summer. During summer, the temperatures are generally amongst the highest in Pakistan. Fort Munro, located on the edge of Punjab Province, has relatively cooler weather. In winter, scattered snowfall has been reported.

Qila Kuhna Qasim Bagh: A symbol of the historical splendor of Multan

Famous Tomb of Sakhi Sarwar

Dera Ghazi Khan
Dera Ghazi Khan












The tomb of Hazrat Sakhi Sarwar Syed Ahmed Sultan was built in the 13th century in a unique style of Mughal architecture. Thousands of people from all over the subcontinent come here for the birth celebrations of Sakhi Sarwar in March every year.