Skip to content Skip to footer

Punjab University Lahore

Punjab University Lahore is the oldest teaching university in the subcontinent which was established on 14th October 1882.

The first Chancellor of this historical academia was Sir Charles Amperstone, and the first Vice-Chancellor was Sir James Broadwood Lyall.

The University of Punjab produced two Nobel laureates, each of whom was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology / Medicine in 1968.

Abdul Salam was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1979.

Punjab University consists of 10 constituent colleges, 137 departments, 19 faculties, centers, and institutes. It has also more than 650 colleges

affiliated with this historical academic center.

Punjab University employs 300 part-time and over 900 full-time faculty members. There are around 50000 students enrolled in different faculties

and programs at all campuses of Punjab University.

Datta Darbar Lahore: Shrine of Sufi Ali Hajveri

6 Campuses of Punjab University

This academic center has 6 campuses.

The Old Campus of Punjab University (Allama Iqbal Campus) was established in 1882 and covers an area of ​​50 acres and 50 Kanals.

The new campus (Quaid-e-Azam Campus) was built in 1958 and is spread over 1781 acres.

Punjab University consists of 10 constituent colleges, 137 departments, 19 faculties, centers, and institutes. 50000 students are enrolled.

Similarly, Khanspur Campus was established in 1964 with a total area of ​​11980 square yards.

The Gujranwala Campus of the academic center was built in 2006 covering an area of ​​81.5 Kanals, and this campus was constructed in 2011.

The area of Jhelum Campus is 259 Kanals and 17 marlas.

According to the news, Prime Minister Mian Shehbaz Sharif has approved the sixth campus in Daska, one of four tehsils of Sialkot.


The current Vice-Chancellor of Punjab University, Prof. Niaz Ahmed assumed office in June 2018.

Prof. Niaz Ahmed has been awarded the highest civil award i.e. Sitara-e-Imtiaz by the government for his services in the field of education.

Prof. Niaz Ahmed was the first to take steps to restore the greatness and dignity of Punjab University as per its glorious past.

It is determined to play the role of developed countries’ universities in providing solutions to the challenges facing Pakistan in all fields.

In this regard, Prof. Niaz Ahmed first introduced the model of accountability, merit, good governance, and transparency, in all matters of the university.

That is why today the role of famous historical academia is evident at the national level and all the universities in the country seem to be benefiting from the far-sighted strategy of the administration in various fields.

Thus, famous historical academia has the honor of being the oldest university in Pakistan.

Location of Punjab University

Earlier, the campus of the University was adjacent to Old Mall Road and Anarkali Bazaar. Many of its departments moved to the New Campus in the 1970s.

At the beginning of Lahore’s Mall Road, many Anglo-Andean-style buildings magnificently face each other, adding to the romance of the road even today.

Whether it’s a town hall a museum, or Tolentino Market and the GPO. On the left is Government College University or Punjab University,

one of the three oldest universities in the subcontinent.

History of Punjab University

The architecture of all these buildings will make you feel the same. Why not, because all these buildings were built by Bhai Ram Singh

who was a renowned architect of his time.

The present building (Old Campus) of Punjab University was built by Bhai Ram Singh in 1911 but this mother of knowledge was started

on 14th October 1882.

After the middle of the seventeenth century, the colonial government outlined four major institutions for higher education in the region.

The fourth of these was this famous historical academia, to be built in Lahore.

There were King Edward Medical College, Government College Lahore, National College of Arts, and Forman Christian College Lahore,

but there was no university.

There was just a college for teaching law, after which it was decided to set up a university in which it was decided to teach up to a doctorate.

At that time the University of Calcutta was started in 1857. Initially, Punjab University was affiliated with Calcutta, and education was started in 1882.

Later it got full university status. After getting the status of a university, Mahindra College, Patiala was the first college to be affiliated with

the famous historical academia.

A campus of this university was built in Chandigarh. Arthur Compton, a professor at Government College Lahore, received the Nobel Prize

in Physics in 1927 after joining this famous historical academia.

The first Vice-Chancellor of “Jamia Punjab” was Sir James Broadwood Lyall and at that time it covered an area of ​​300 acres.

The current Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Dr. Niaz Ahmad Akhtar says that the University started with Oriental Learning Degrees.

In the beginning, Oriental Learning but later all kinds of faculty became part of famous historical academia. Now no subject is not taught here.

It currently has five campuses and 19 faculties. The number of departments, centers, and institutes has increased to 134.

After the partition of India, the cross-border campuses and institutes of Punjab University were separated. After independence,

the Chandigarh campus of Punjab University was separated from it.

It is still known as Punjab University Chandigarh and here it is Punjab University Lahore.

Admission, Merit List, Fees Structure:

If you want to keep yourself in touch with the “Admission, Merit List, and Fees Structure”, please click the following link, and thus you will directly land on the respective page.

All about Admissions and Fees

Punjab University Examination Admission Form

Punjab University Examination Admission Form

Read More:

Leave a comment